Help Center Live Community
April 21, 2014, 10:38:55 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Aardvark Issue  (Read 19408 times)
Kirk
Not too much to say...
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


« on: December 02, 2007, 11:06:33 AM »

Hi, I have searched high I low for the solution to my problem so sorry if it has already been posted.

I have just installed Help Center Live on my website, and have changed the icons. While it worked like a charm for the first day while I tested it now it has the word Aardvark above my icons, when the operator is online or off. I have no idea what is going on or how to remove them.

Im using version 2.1.5 and it was one of those one click install solutions my hosting company offers.

Could anyone help me?

Heres a screenshot
Logged
victor
HCL Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 266


WWW
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2007, 02:03:11 AM »

it seems to be something related with your actual hosting company, my advice, try to install it manually, without using the on click installation solution of your hosting provider and tell us how is it going  Smiley
Logged

HCL Admin
Administrator
HCL Superstar
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 882


WWW
« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2007, 08:16:32 AM »

If it persists, install the debug file and IM us so we can investigate, I'm thinking there might be some goofy settings busting this up for you.
Logged

how may I help you today?
Kirk
Not too much to say...
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


« Reply #3 on: December 05, 2007, 09:21:31 AM »

I appreciate the help,

Here is the debug file.

http://www.hostezi.com/helpcenterlive/debug.php
Logged
victor
HCL Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 266


WWW
« Reply #4 on: December 05, 2007, 08:11:09 PM »

did you try installing it manually?
Logged

Kirk
Not too much to say...
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


« Reply #5 on: December 07, 2007, 12:52:26 PM »

Ok, I have installed it manually now and am having the exact same issue.

Here is the new debug page from the manual install.

http://hostezi.com/livesupport/debug.php

Any suggestions?
Logged
victor
HCL Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 266


WWW
« Reply #6 on: December 07, 2007, 03:42:33 PM »

I've checked your URL from here on IE and Mozilla and it's OK, It seems to be something related to your computer

http://hostezi.com/livesupport/

try it on another computer

please send us a feedbak if you find something
« Last Edit: December 07, 2007, 03:44:08 PM by victor » Logged

Kirk
Not too much to say...
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


« Reply #7 on: December 22, 2007, 09:05:56 AM »

Ok I have done extensive testing on several servers, computers, browsers, installs, versions, and ip address.

The problem seems to be with Firefox running on a Macintosh computer. I have tested it on several now and they are all having the same issue.

I have tried other browsers and they work fine, I have also tried Firefox on a pc and it too works fine.

I have done many installs, both manually and with the one click solution.

The direct link is this one http://www.hostezi.com/test/Template.php
If a new debug page is required please let me know and I will upload one to the latest install. Any help would be appreated as Im holding the launch of the site untill this issue is resolved.

Thank you.
Kirk
Logged
HCL Admin
Administrator
HCL Superstar
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 882


WWW
« Reply #8 on: December 27, 2007, 09:28:58 PM »

Kirk, what java plugin is your FF using (put the URL about:plugins in the address bar)  I've seen that one a few times.
Logged

how may I help you today?
Kirk
Not too much to say...
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


« Reply #9 on: January 08, 2008, 09:20:48 AM »

Sorry was away for Christmas and New Years.

Java Embedding Plugin 0.9.6.2

java.version 1.5.0_07
java.vendor Apple Computer,Inc

Java is enabled and supported.
Logged
jamie.johnstone
Not too much to say...
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #10 on: January 19, 2008, 11:07:27 AM »

Hello,

I was wondering if anybody has made any progress on this problem, as we are experience the same 'Aardvark' issues on our site, and it doesn't give have the most appealing look when it messes with the formatting of your site =/ However, we are using it with text links and the problem still seems to occur.

We are using 2.1.5, and it only seems to have appeared very recently (I've been experimenting with HCL for days and haven't seem it come up as obviously as it is doing so until now).

Regards,

Jamie Johnstone
« Last Edit: January 19, 2008, 11:09:06 AM by jamie.johnstone » Logged
HCL Admin
Administrator
HCL Superstar
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 882


WWW
« Reply #11 on: January 19, 2008, 02:23:53 PM »

The problem isn't actually HCL, it's been pointed out on other sites that java applets do that on FF running on Mac.  I need to take some time and see if anyone has a good work around.  The problem is that I don't have a Mac running right at the moment to test anything.  Once my blueberry gets back home it'll simplify things.
Logged

how may I help you today?
horsewhip
Not too much to say...
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #12 on: January 31, 2008, 04:39:53 AM »

Has there been any movement on this issue? I am running into the same thing for one of my clients.
Logged
Kirk
Not too much to say...
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


« Reply #13 on: February 03, 2008, 04:47:46 AM »

No change sorry, I am yet to find a work around.
Logged
kennibc
Not too much to say...
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #14 on: February 04, 2008, 03:00:52 PM »

I am fairly new to HCL and am considering this over Crafty Syntax, but I am really concerned about this issue because I work in a school district that has MANY macs running firefox.

Here may be a fix, PLEASE TRY IT and let me know if it works...
File: class/js/aardvark.php
Line 59: <img alt="Aardvark" id="aardvark_img_'+this.object+'" width="0" height="0" src="'+this.url+'" />
Remove: alt="Aardvark"

Also,
File: class/js/normal/aardvark.php
Line: 312 <img alt="Aardvark" id="aardvark_img_'+this.object+'" width="0" height="0" src="'+this.url+'" />
Remove: alt="Aardvark"

From what I could gather it appears the javascript in Firefox on a mac is displaying the ALT tag with the image.  Either remove the tag altogether or replace it with "Live Support" or something that makes sense for your site.

PLEASE LET ME KNOW IF IT WORKS!

Hope it helps,
Chris
« Last Edit: February 04, 2008, 03:15:16 PM by kennibc » Logged
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.8 | SMF © 2006-2008, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.163 seconds with 20 queries.

Google visited last this page April 12, 2014, 01:03:21 AM