Help Center Live Community
April 23, 2014, 07:47:12 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Sounds is set to ON, but sound does not play  (Read 9754 times)
fgao
Not too much to say...
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« on: July 22, 2007, 10:09:27 PM »

Live help monitor window open witht Sounds set to ON, but request.mp3 doesn't play when someone requests a connection. Aslo, all other kind of  sound don't play either.
Any idea? thanks.
Logged
HCL Admin
Administrator
HCL Superstar
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 882


WWW
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2007, 12:56:37 PM »

What os and browser are you using?
Logged

how may I help you today?
fgao
Not too much to say...
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2007, 04:19:45 PM »

I'm running Linux SuSE 10.0 and firefox browser.
Here is what I did:
1. I opened the Live Help Monitor Window from Firefox.
2. I opened new Tab from the same Firefox, then opened a hot page and clicked on the link to initiate a connection.

Result: I didn't hear sound at all.

I tested my speakers by opening a clip from youtube and the speakers work fine.

Thanks
Logged
HCL Admin
Administrator
HCL Superstar
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 882


WWW
« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2007, 04:41:56 PM »

Try installing the moz-plugger plugin.  You may also need to install helix or quicktime.  The sound files are mp3 (compressed waves) and you will need at least this to get the sound up and running.
Logged

how may I help you today?
fgao
Not too much to say...
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #4 on: July 23, 2007, 06:04:05 PM »

It still doesn't work after I installed the Helix and plugger.

Here are the files under plugins dir.

/usr/lib/firefox/plugins

libflashplayer.so  libnullplugin.so  nphelix.so  nphelix.xpt  plugger.so
Logged
HCL Admin
Administrator
HCL Superstar
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 882


WWW
« Reply #5 on: July 23, 2007, 06:17:17 PM »

Ah, I don't see Java listed there.  HCL is a Java app, so with out it, it simply will not run.  Suse should have it in their distro, I'm kind of surprised it wasn't installed automagically.
Logged

how may I help you today?
fgao
Not too much to say...
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #6 on: July 23, 2007, 06:25:22 PM »

I finally got it to work now after I installed the mplay on my system.
thanks for your help. Cool
Logged
HCL Admin
Administrator
HCL Superstar
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 882


WWW
« Reply #7 on: July 23, 2007, 06:31:27 PM »

Cool.  I'm still curious how it's running without the java plugin, but hey, I'm funny that way... Cheesy
Logged

how may I help you today?
fgao
Not too much to say...
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #8 on: July 23, 2007, 07:21:28 PM »

It was definitely missing the plugins. Without your hints, I think I'm still wondering....
By the way, Live help is pretty cool stuff to put on the web site.
Logged
HCL Admin
Administrator
HCL Superstar
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 882


WWW
« Reply #9 on: July 23, 2007, 10:25:20 PM »

Hehehe, I'm getting ready to put it on an Internet Radio site I run, once I get all the web crud out of the way (yeah it's running Drupal, I'm in a rut!)  We'll end up using it for requests.
Logged

how may I help you today?
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.8 | SMF © 2006-2008, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.16 seconds with 19 queries.

Google visited last this page April 05, 2014, 12:30:05 AM