Help Center Live Community
July 22, 2014, 02:26:26 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Undefined variable: blob when creating an operator  (Read 7486 times)
victor
HCL Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 266


WWW
« on: September 04, 2007, 10:03:33 PM »

I use HCL 2.1.5 on a linux server and everytime I create an operator I receive the following error

Notice: Undefined variable: blob in /home2/user/public_html/support/class/operator.php on line 196

The operator gets created but this error is anoying

Any ideas about it?

Thanks
Logged

HCL Admin
Administrator
HCL Superstar
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 882


WWW
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2007, 11:51:50 PM »

Your error reporting setting for PHP is set too low.  I believe in /class/include.php you can change it.  Just set it from E_ALL to 0 and that will go away.  It's not actually an error, it's just a notice that the variable wasn't predefined.  I'll change it in the source code so the notice doesn't come up again.
Logged

how may I help you today?
gazoi
Not too much to say...
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 10


« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2007, 10:43:31 AM »


I would suggest that if a variable is to be used, it should be defined, no matter what the error reporting level.

This warning manifests itself when an operator is added with an image to be stored as a blob.

In hcl/class/operator.php,

replace code on line 196

Code:
if ($blob === '') $blob = ' ';

with

Code:
if( isset($blob) ) {
  if ($blob === '') $blob = ' ';
}

Logged
HCL Admin
Administrator
HCL Superstar
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 882


WWW
« Reply #3 on: September 18, 2007, 11:44:33 AM »

Actually, that won't work.  That was done because if a bug in certain versions of PHP (yet another reason to go the PHP5+ route!).  Look at the logic, if it is set, then if it's null...  The actual fix is before the variable is assigned from the request, to do a var $blob; Smiley
Logged

how may I help you today?
XtremeCrash
Not too much to say...
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #4 on: September 20, 2007, 04:47:31 AM »

Actully I get the same problem.I just installed today.Also The chat window pops up an theres a blank page.
Logged
victor
HCL Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 266


WWW
« Reply #5 on: September 20, 2007, 04:50:16 PM »

I solved my problem with mlzhosting advice, but I didn't have the "blank page" issue, take a look at this post

http://www.helpcenterlive.com/smf/index.php/topic,218.0.html
Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.8 | SMF © 2006-2008, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.172 seconds with 19 queries.

Google visited last this page July 20, 2014, 07:08:20 PM